Page 1 of 1

Beautiful Despair

Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 10:00 pm
by Bazza
A new collection of demos from the TVP's is out now on vinyl & CD entitled 'Beautiful Despair'. The record contains 15 tracks recorded during the early 90s and can be ordered via the link below -

Television Personalities unreleased album. Recorded in 1990 by Jowe at his flat in Glading Terrace, Stoke Newington (shortly before it was demolished), over a number sessions on a portable 4-track cassette-tape machine. “Over the course of a few weeks, we had amassed fifteen tracks, some of which ended up being re-recorded with very different arrangements on Closer to God. The intention was to finish and release these tracks at some point, and that time has finally arrived” Jowe Head. Of the previously unheard songs, I Like That in a Girl was based on a conversation Daniel Treacy had with Lawrence of the Birmingham band Felt, hence the peculiar accent that Dan uses towards the end! Love is a Four-Letter Word was a song the band would play regularly live; it eventually evolved into Love is Better Than War. I Suppose You Think It’s Funny displays Jowe and Daniels double-falsetto skills. If You Fly Too High was based on an encounter with Evan Dando of The Lemonheads in Berlin during a memorable gig with them at the Ecstasy Madhouse in December 1989, when the Berlin Wall was being torn down. The band jammed with Evan on stage that night, playing some tunes by Jonathan Richman and Johnny Thunders. The song also mentions Alan McGee, who was a great fan of the TVPS. Alan openly admits that he emulated Dan’s style of music, and influenced his decision to run a mod-psychedelic club, The Living Room, and to start his label, Creation.

1 Hard Luck Story Number 39
2 Razor Blades & Lemonade
3 How Does It Feel To Be Loved?
4 Beautiful Despair
5 Love Is A Four Letter Word
6 If You Fly Too High
7 I Get Frightened Too
8 Goodnight Mr Spaceman
9 Honey For The Bears
10 I Don't Want To Live This Life
11 I Like That In A Girl
12 My Very First Nervous Breakdown
13 Suppose You Think It's Funny
14 Have A Nice Day
15 This Heart's Not Made Of Stone

Re: Beautiful Despair

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:04 pm
by Keg
To be released on January 26th 2018. I'm just updating the main website with the news.